Thankful

Every day I try to be thankful for something.  Some days that can be a challenge!  These days I think about my family and the things we’ve been through and I realize how young and unprepared I was for this journey.  Had someone told me what it was going to be like I probably would have taken a different path.

I dreamt of my son being a baseball player.  He’s a musician and I’m so proud!  I dreamt of my daughter being a gymnast.  I’m so excited about our first Special Olympics event this month!

I can’t imagine who I would be without them.  Had I been told “These are your kids. Do you want this life?” I probably would have chosen a different path because I wasn’t strong enough.  But it was only by being their mom that I gained the strength I needed to be their mom.

So no matter what happens on any day I can always be thankful that I had no idea what I was getting into because I would have wimped out.  These kids are amazing and they’re helping me learn to be amazing too and I’m so grateful to get to be their mom!

Posted on October 8, 2011, in Sherry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

