Writing

I have a love/hate relationship with writing. There are days I can’t put pen to paper even to play tic-tac-toe and the hardest thing in the world is to write a grocery list.

Of course, my muse thinks it’s funny to strike at very inconvenient times so I try to always have some way of writing things down, even if I have to tap out a text message and save it as a draft.  I try to keep paper and pen close by, especially at night.  Sometimes I wake up in the morning and the page that was blank when I fell asleep is completely covered in an essay or short story!

It’s usually not nearly that easy. The other day I couldn’t come up with anything so my son handed me a bottle of hand sanitizer.  I said, “You want me to write about hand sanitizer?” and he said, “Well, no, but if you don’t have any good inspiration you might as well write about something dumb.”  I just stared at him.

He was right. Sometimes the act of writing is more important than the subject. The next time I’m stuck with a blank page maybe I’ll write that essay about hand sanitizer. It could be just the exercise I need to get my creative blood flowing!

Posted on October 8, 2011, in Sherry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

