Pinkie Pie Pony and me

Over the last couple of months I have watched just absolutely way too much “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic”.  I know the main ponies pretty well; although, I haven’t figured out how Rarity sews.  The pony Pinkie Pie is pretty hyperactive.  She jumps around from one thing to the next, loves sweets, thinks of life as a big party, is kind of flaky, and nopony takes her seriously.  She can jump to conclusions without having all the facts but fairly often she has the answers, if anypony would listen.

So what does that have to do with me?  Well, pretty much most of it.  I don’t necessarily think of life as one big party but I am constantly inviting people over for tea or dinner or cookies.  But because I can be a touch flaky and jump around between projects, not as much gets done as I hope and sometimes I can be a tad difficult to take seriously 🙂  Every once in a while though I just might know what I’m talking about!

Riley is more like Rarity.  She is the perfectionistic drama queen whose life is perpetually ruined by any little thing but who loves nothing more than being helpful to her friends and working on her projects.  Does that describe Riley or Rarity?  Yes!  Riley can’t stand to think that anything she’s done is ever less than perfect and she can go into total meltdown mode if she makes a mistake.  Her life is ruined, she moans!  But she’s very artistic and loves her projects and is always willing to lend a hoof… uh, a hand… if I need help.

Then there’s Tyler.  He has an ability to focus on a project that is almost detrimental and once he builds up momentum he can’t be stopped.  That’s much like Rainbow Dash.  Oh, she helps out and does other things but primarily she cares about being the fastest pony in Ponyville and joining Equestria’s elite flying pony team.  Similarly, Tyler has his own ambitions and is throwing himself almost completely into working on his goals.

And if you’re wondering about Jeff… well… Fluttershy.  Wanting to take care of the smaller, defenseless creatures, usually quiet but able to take charge when the need arises.  Hey, there are worse things to be reminded of!

The ponies are such distinct archetypes that I imagine most people can identify with aspects of one or more of them.  So, yeah, anyway, it’s hard to imagine how much “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic” I’ve watched to think about it this much.  But just wait until I decide to write about Spongebob Squarepants!

Posted on October 22, 2011, in Asperger's, Autism, Jeff, PDD-NOS, Riley, Sherry, Tyler. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

