“Just because” is not just cause

I grew up in the South in the 1970s and 80s.  I was a poor white girl surrounded primarily by other poor whites.  On any given day I saw more rebel flags than American flags.  The American flag, the Stars and Stripes, was reserved for “official” use – government buildings mainly – schools, post offices, and the like.  The rebel flag, the Stars and Bars, was more of a populist thing, a flag of the people, as it were.  Sewn onto hats and coats, screen-printed on t-shirts, license tags on the front plates of cars (TN does not require front registration plates), stickers on windows, kerchiefs sold in convenience stores, flying proudly on poles in front yards.  Seriously.  The thing was everywhere.

And I always felt maybe I was missing something.  The Confederacy lost over a hundred years previously.  Why are people proudly displaying a lost army’s flag?  They were beaten so badly they officially disbanded and were absorbed back into the USA.

“It’s our history, heritage, culture,” people tried to explain to me.  That didn’t make sense to me.  Sure, it’s a representation of the HISTORY of a HERITAGE and CULTURE that lowered other humans to the status of chattel and decided it was okay to be as inhumane as they wanted to them.

“No, you idiot,” they tried again.  “The War for Southern Independence was over states’ rights!”

Uhm, yeah.  States’ rights to slavery.  Really didn’t convince me.

We even had “neo-Nazis” at my high school.  Two boys, brothers.  They were vulgar, repulsive, and too old for the grades they were in.  I actually asked the older one what his problem was, why did he hate people with black skin?  It pretty much boiled down to “just because”.  I couldn’t wrap my head around “just because” being just cause to hate.  I didn’t get it then.  I don’t get it now.

But maybe all those old rednecks were right and the South will rise again.  The most repulsive attitudes of it sure are alive and well.

Posted on August 19, 2017, in Liberal, March, Politics, Protest, Rights, Snowflake, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

